top of page
  • Writer's pictureCollard Racing

Strong Final Round Sees Jordan Collard Become Rookie Champion And P3 In Overal Championship

In typical MINI fashion, the first lap was certainly entertaining as five cars found homes in the gravel. The biggest news of the opening lap was Whorton-Eales progress, taking the lead and breaking away in the first few laps.

It would be a gap he’d seldom lose, as the officials decided not to deploy a safety car as the trucks recovered the stricken cars from the gravel.

By the time the flag fell, Ant had built a lead of 4.9 seconds securing his title in the most dominant style possible. His seventh win in a row. The result means he picks up his first win since his Renault Clio Cup success two years ago.

The battle for second had entertained most of the viewers as Calum King attempted to defend his hard-earned position. Sadly for the #10 it would not last, with Jordan Collard and Harrison forcing their way through.

Harrison would set a number of fastest laps, but it would not be enough to claw back the gap in time to Collard. The MINI UK VIP driver took his fourth podium of the year as Harrison forfeited the title fight.

He kept out of trouble on the opening lap, taking the lead as others fell around him, holding off the challenge from Jordan Collard to secure second in the standings.

The final race of the year was a chance for many of the unexpected heroes to prove their metal with minimal pressure. Sadly for polesitter Lewis Brown it would not last, as engine issues that had plagued him since qualifying ended his run after the first corner.

George Sutton wouldn’t have any better luck, spinning out from the lead after five minutes. This promoted Harrison up to the front with his 2018 rivals Ant Whorton-Eales and Collard soon chasing him down.

It was a fitting end to the season to see its three protagonists again fight for victory. Collard and AW-E continued to race over the podium, but for the champion, a five second penalty dropped him to fourth.

Season overview:

To say his ride to the title was easy would certainly not be fair either. Fresh out of Ginetta Junior campaign, Jordan Collard soon proved to be the most notable rookie during the opening Oulton Park round, as JCW again returned to the British GT support bill.

Collard collected pole, but it would be AW-E who beat him off the line, holding off the young contender. With Guest driver Paul O’Neill completing the podium, the connections to the UK’s biggest Touring Car Championship was obvious to see. O’Neill would not be the only BTCC Guest either, as Matt Neal and Rob Collard both made appearances over the year. Collard and series regular Rob Smith took wins at Silverstone with AW-E and Harrison rounding out the podium on both occasions. The champion-in-waited dominated the opening race of the weekend as Harrison couldn’t make his way past Collard, who picked up his first podium since his Silverstone win.

Despite missing out on the title, Harrison ended the year on a high by taking the final win of the year ahead of Collard and Smith, who filled out the top four in the championship respectively.



bottom of page